New to the Development Team: Meet Brian Sames

(Photo Credit: TommieSports)

Brian is the latest addition to the Gear West Development Team this fall. After running for much of his life, the three sport variety has grabbed Brian’s attention as a possible diversion from solely pounding the pavement. Brian has some awesome potential coming from a running background and has thrown down some fast PR’s since his running days at St. Thomas (1:09 Half Marathon @ Grandma’s 11′). Brian’s attitude and love for racing makes his talents that much greater. Even though he needs to spend some time chasing the center line in the pool this winter, we think he is going to be an awesome addition to the community and Gear West’s Development Team.

To formally introduce Brian to the community, we figured we would do the oh so serious GWB interview!

1.  Brian, can you tell us where you grew up and attended college?

I grew up in Shakopee, MN and graduated from the Shakopee high school in 2005. From there, I attended Saint Thomas University and graduated in 2010 with a double major in Electrical Engineering and Business Management.

2.  Can you give me the “cliff notes” version of your athletic background?

In high school I competed in cross-country in the fall, basketball in the winter and track and field in the spring. While at Saint Thomas, I started off playing basketball and running track for my first two seasons. Eventually, I figured that I should stick to running and joined the cross-country team and continued with track for the indoor and outdoor seasons. My focus in track was middle distance races, specifically the 800m and 1600m. 

Today, I continue to run and play basketball whenever I get the chance.

3.  What was your first triathlon? Did you have any good learning or embarrassing moments as a triathlon rookie?

My first triathlon was in the summer of 2007. I had not swum over 10 laps in a pool, my bike was an old mountain bike but I figured I would give it a shot anyway. Well, I almost drowned in a half mile swim, took over an hour to bike like 15 miles and my legs felt like rubber for the entire run. My first tri showed me that anyone can accomplish this event; however, not preparing for it can make it a miserable time.

4.  Do you have a coach? Would you mind enlightening us with what a typical week of training tends to look like for you?

As of now, I do not have a coach and I am basically picking up training workouts from email threads and discussions online. Since running has been a major part of my life, I tend to run around 90miles a week and play basketball whenever I get a chance. Now that I am really looking forward to seriously competing in triathlons, I plan on biking and swimming multiple times a week.

5.  What triathlon based goals do you have for next season? Are you doing any other races this fall?

So far I have only competed in a few sprint distance triathlons. I am hoping to put some serious training in this fall and winter and come out next spring and be able to compete in the Olympic Distance. Hopefully I will be able to complete my first half Ironman in the next year or so and finish a full Ironman eventually down the road.

I have the Twin Cities marathon in a few weeks. It will be my second marathon and I am aiming for sub 2:30, it should be a good time

 6.  So I have to ask. Last time you came into the shop you had a pretty shameless mustache in preparation for Twin Cities Marathon. What’s the motivation behind that?

Hahaha, my cross-country team grew out our mustaches in preparation for our Conference, Region and National meets. I figured since I have put some serious miles in the past year for this marathon that it is only necessary to carry on tradition. A few of my buddies from UST have also misplaced their razors and are looking exceptional to say the least.

7.  Is it true you had to dye it to make it legit? Is your girlfriend annoyed at all of the ladies swooning over you for this graceful look?

Unfortunately yes, the mustache is dyed. For some reason, my mustache hair is blond…like dirty blond. If I didn’t dye it, I don’t think I would be allowed to watch my sister’s high school volleyball games.

My girlfriend is very disappointed in me and cannot wait for the marathon to be over so the mustache will finally be gone…until ‘No Shave November’!!!

8.  In all seriousness, other than us asking you, what made you want to race for the Gear West Tri Team?

I wanted to be part of a successful team that is well-known in both the racing and multisport community and respectful and encouraging to all athletes. I am hoping that this group will help me in my training and give me plenty of advice along the way.

9.  Other than participating in endurance sports, what else do you like to do in your free-time?

To be honest, during the fall and winter I play in 4-5 basketball leagues outside of training. So there isn’t much free time there. However I am a big Call of Duty fan. Modern Warfare 3 coming in November!

10.  Do you have any unique talents that you try to hide from the general public?

Nope, what you see is what you get.

Leave a Reply

