Meet: Sebastian Christopher Wood

Some of you may have noticed the dramatic drop off in blogging and facebooking this past week.  Well that’s because yours truly (ie. Curt Wood) became a first time dad on Sunday morning at 9:19AM.   Sebastian Christopher Wood was born, weighing in at 8lbs 2oz and 20″.   I decided that in the spirit of the GWB&Tri Blog I should sit down and interview him so everyone could get to know him a little better.

Sebastian Wood
Meet Sebastian Wood: Minnesota's next great triathlete?

CW: So Seb… I’m sorry, I’m being presumptuous; may I call you Seb?
SW: Seb, Big Seb, Sea Bass… it’s all good.    But I still like Sebastian too.

CW: So Seb, tell me how the last 9 months have gone?
SW: I know it seems crazy, but to be honest it’s been kind of a blur.

CW: You seem to have really developed quickly, specifically in these last few months.  What can you attribute that to?
SW: You know, it’s all about consistency.  My diet has remained fairly ‘blan’ by most people’s standards, but you know what?  It works.  I’ve been doing a lot of swimming… every day as a matter of fact.  And strength training… arms and legs mostly.  Squats and shoulder press are my favorites.

CW: So last week was quite the week for you.  Tell me about it.
SW: Yes, I take it you’ve heard about my big move on Sunday.  Well… it was a bit rough.  You know how small 10 centimeters is?  I do… not very big.    The change in environment was a shock to the system initially, but after only a week I’m getting stronger and healthier.  It was really the only way to “take it to the next level” as they say.

CW: So what are you plans as the triathlon season approaches?
SW: You know, I’m still undecided.  My development has been going so well, but I don’t want to rush things either.  This may just be an experience building year as I train with my dad.  I also had trouble finding my size wetsuit and tri-suit… so I would have to go custom.

Thanks Sebastian, it’s been a pleasure.  Good luck with the upcoming season.

One thought on “Meet: Sebastian Christopher Wood

Leave a Reply

